Mapfumo drops new album

Genre : Movie, book, album release...
Principal country concerned : Column : Music
Release/publication date : October 2015
Published on : 10/02/2015
Source : 9 February 2015

Chimurenga music legend Thomas Mapfumo's new album titled Danger Zone will finally be launched at the Book Café on February 17.

Metro Studios director Emion Sibindi, whose company is jointly distributing the album with Mapfumo' Chimurenga Music Company, confirmed the launch date of the United States of America-based artiste's long-awaited new offering.

"The album was supposed to be released to the market at the end of January but we later decided that such a keenly-awaited album could not just be dropped onto the market without a proper launch ceremony," he told the Daily News.

"Everything is now in place for the February 17 launch and we have already put in place all the necessary logistics to make sure that the album will be available throughout the country the morning after the launch."

Mapfumo's publicist, Blessing Vava, also confirmed the album launch but was quick to point out that the chimurenga music legend would not grace the event.

"Unfortunately, he is unable to attend the album launch but he will talk to the launch crowd via skype.

"He is very delighted that the people of Zimbabwe will have new music from him after a long while," he said.

Vava could not immediately confirm the guest of honour but well-placed sources told the Daily News yesterday that Mapfumo was keen to make veteran musician Zexie Manatsa the guest of honour.

Mapfumo's publicist, however, confirmed that several musicians had agreed to perform on the day.

"We haven't finalised the list of peformers yet but there will be a duet between Victor Kunonga and Nyamasvisva, Raymond Majongwe, Talking Guitars have also confirmed," he said.

"In addition to several high-profile musicians, there will be representation from the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe. We are looking forward to a great event that is in keeping with a musician of Mukanya's stature."

Songs to look forward to on the album include Hatidi Politics which attacks the local political leadership for making false promises and for failing to provide basic services to the people.

According to Vava, the music legend's first album since 2010 offers "a wide ranging set of new songs, with messages to suit a new set of circumstances."

"Since the beginning of his epic career, Mapfumo has stood for the rights and concerns of ordinary people facing oppression and poverty. The historical context has changed, but Mapfumo's loyalties and focus have not.

Nhamo Urombo offers a poignant recapitulation of his central theme on Danger Zone while Chikwereti broadens the scope with a pointed message to African nations who accept financial help from foreign countries, notably China: It's not a gift. One way or another, you will have to pay them back.

The title track Danger Zone is a survey of the world's hot spots -Syria, Iraq, Libya. But it comes from a philosophical perspective, asking how it is that God's children seem incapable of living in peace."

Other songs on the new offering are Varimudande and Pasi idandaro, two English language songs, Celebrate and Are You Ready as well as Music and a remix of Shabeen that features guest vocals by Natalia Rollins.


  • Arterial network
  • Media, Sports and Entertainment Group (MSE)
  • Gens de la Caraïbe
  • Groupe 30 Afrique
  • Alliance Française VANUATU
  • Zimbabwe : Culture Fund Of Zimbabwe Trust
  • RDC : Groupe TACCEMS
  • Rwanda : Positive Production
  • Togo : Kadam Kadam
  • Niger : ONG Culture Art Humanité
  • Collectif 2004 Images
  • Africultures Burkina-Faso
  • Bénincultures / Editions Plurielles
  • Africiné
  • Afrilivres

With the support of