Genre : Band
Column : Music

Mozpipa was formed in 1995 by guitarist Pinto Macaringue and drummer Paulo Matsolo. The name Mozpipa came from their names ("Moz" for Mozambique, "pi" for Pinto and "pa" for Paulo).
The five other members (Jaime Marques, José Mário Checo, Rui Taula and Ernesto Django) joined the band later.
Most of them already performed together in a legendary group of young children called "Pétalas Amarelas" (Yellow Petals).

Mozpipa released 4 albums :
- "Morena de mocambique"
- "Progresso"
- "Reflexão"
- "Ecos do Zambeze"

The 1st of January 2012, the drummer and fondator Paulo Matsolo died.

Leave a comment !

Please share your impressions, remarks, suggestions to help us improve the new Southplanet website. Don't hesitate to signal any bugs that you happen to come across !


  • Arterial network
  • Media, Sports and Entertainment Group (MSE)
  • Gens de la Caraïbe
  • Groupe 30 Afrique
  • Alliance Française VANUATU
  • Zimbabwe : Culture Fund Of Zimbabwe Trust
  • RDC : Groupe TACCEMS
  • Rwanda : Positive Production
  • Togo : Kadam Kadam
  • Niger : ONG Culture Art Humanité
  • Collectif 2004 Images
  • Africultures Burkina-Faso
  • Bénincultures / Editions Plurielles
  • Africiné
  • Afrilivres

With the support of