SIMA 2013 - Who are the members of the jury?

Genre : Communiqués
Column : Music
Published on : 12/10/2013
Source : Communiqué de presse

A jury composed of music professionals has been created to select international artists. Who are they?

José Da Silva

José DA SILVA is the founder of Lusafrica label, producer & manager of late Cesaria Evora (among others). He is also the creator and artistic director of Kriol Jazz Festival as well as the general manager of Atlantic Music Expo in Praia and works inbetween France, Portugal and Cape Verde.

Patrick de Groote

Patrick de Groote is directing and programming sfinks and'zomer van antwerpen' in Belgium. He's coordinating the "European Forum of Worldwide Music Festivals" the EFWMF, and is collaborating with various festivals and networks in Europe, Asia, Latin-Amercia and Africa

Brahim El Mazned

Jury member of the Babel Med in Marseille since its inception, jury member of the Indian Ocean Price and jury member of the Samarkand "Sharq Taronalari" festival in Uzbekistan since 2005, Brahim El Mazned is the artistic director of the Timitar Festival in Agadir. He is also the Artistic Advisor of the Popular Arts in Marrakech's Festival and of several other events in Morocco and abroad.

Florence Titty-Dimbeng

Artistic agent and show producers (artistic director of the "Festival International des voix de Femmes de Douala" the MASSAO, artistic director of the Kora Awards, Festival Coordinator of the "GOSPEL et RACINES" in Benin, general coordinator of Balafons-Gabon Music Awards), former singer of Manu Dibango, Florence Titty-Dimbeng is the Director of the GA Agency in Gabon

David Alexander

David Alexander is the founder and CEO of Sheer Publishing, with a thirteen person strong team in South Africa, and staff in Cameroon, Ghana and Kenya. Born in 1996, Sheer Publishing has a vast catalogue rich with South African, African and International Chart music.

Leave a comment !

Please share your impressions, remarks, suggestions to help us improve the new Southplanet website. Don't hesitate to signal any bugs that you happen to come across !


  • Arterial network
  • Media, Sports and Entertainment Group (MSE)
  • Gens de la Caraïbe
  • Groupe 30 Afrique
  • Alliance Française VANUATU
  • Zimbabwe : Culture Fund Of Zimbabwe Trust
  • RDC : Groupe TACCEMS
  • Rwanda : Positive Production
  • Togo : Kadam Kadam
  • Niger : ONG Culture Art Humanité
  • Collectif 2004 Images
  • Africultures Burkina-Faso
  • Bénincultures / Editions Plurielles
  • Africiné
  • Afrilivres

With the support of