Mawu/FMB Short Story competition prizes up

Genre : Cultural projects
Principal country concerned : Column : Literature
Release/publication date : August 2015
Published on : 08/06/2015
Source : 5 June 2015

Malawi Writers Union (Mawu) yesterday announced that the Mawu/ FMB Awards competition prizes have been increased by 20 percent.

This is good news for writers in the country as the first prize will see the winner walking away with K200,000 from K160,000 last year.

According to the press statement, the runner-up will receive K100,000 from K80,000 last year with the third prize winner pocketing K70,000 from K50,000.

The statement further says that there will be two consolation prizes which have jumped from K10,000 to K15,000.

"There is also Best Woman entry and Most Imaginative Writer who will receive K30, 000 each from K25, 000 last year," says the writer's body in the statement.

Meanwhile, Mawu has also said they are now receiving entries for the competition whose prize presentation ceremony will be held in mid-December, 2015 .

Mawu says the entrants should be citizens of Malawi, including those in Diaspora and that stories should be original and must not have been previously published.

The competition also entails that stories submitted must be on any topic and must not exceed 2, 000 words.

Mawu president Sambalikagwa Mvona called on Malawians to participate in the competition, saying this is part of motivating writers and encouraging them to write more.

"Stories must be typed and double-spaced on A4 paper and be Font size 12 on Times New Roman or equivalent. Entrants must not bear any name and address, only covering letter must bear name, address, telephone number or email address and the entries must be in English," said Mvona.

He said that the closing date for submitting the entries is September 30, 2015.

Mvona hailed FMB for sponsoring the competition for years now. He said through this platform writers have shared their stories and that it has also unearthed writers.

Last year the competition was won by former National Police Spokesperson Dave Chingwalu.


  • Arterial network
  • Media, Sports and Entertainment Group (MSE)
  • Gens de la Caraïbe
  • Groupe 30 Afrique
  • Alliance Française VANUATU
  • Zimbabwe : Culture Fund Of Zimbabwe Trust
  • RDC : Groupe TACCEMS
  • Rwanda : Positive Production
  • Togo : Kadam Kadam
  • Niger : ONG Culture Art Humanité
  • Collectif 2004 Images
  • Africultures Burkina-Faso
  • Bénincultures / Editions Plurielles
  • Africiné
  • Afrilivres

With the support of