Ratification by Eritrea of the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage

Genre : Society news
Principal country concerned : Column : History/society
Published on : 23/02/2011
Source : Lettre de l'OCPA

On 7 October 2010, Eritrea deposited with the Director-General its instrument of ratification of the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage.
In accordance with the terms of its Article 34, the aforementioned Convention will enter into force with respect to Eritrea three months after the date of the deposit of this instrument, that is to say on 7 January 2011.
Thus presently the African State Parties of this convention are (31 countries): Algeria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Read full list at


  • Arterial network
  • Media, Sports and Entertainment Group (MSE)
  • Gens de la Caraïbe
  • Groupe 30 Afrique
  • Alliance Française VANUATU
  • Zimbabwe : Culture Fund Of Zimbabwe Trust
  • RDC : Groupe TACCEMS
  • Rwanda : Positive Production
  • Togo : Kadam Kadam
  • Niger : ONG Culture Art Humanité
  • Collectif 2004 Images
  • Africultures Burkina-Faso
  • Bénincultures / Editions Plurielles
  • Africiné
  • Afrilivres

With the support of